In Preparation for Meeting: September 25, 2011

Posted on Updated on

The Day of Visitation

Shirley Brendlinger will lead the congregation in preparing for worship by playing a prelude of Teach Me Your Way, Oh Lord (Hymn #472). The lyrics are:

Help me to walk aright, More by faith less by sight;
Lead me with heavenly light- Teach me Your way!

After a brief call to worship, we will sing Teach Me to Stop and Listen:

Teach me to stop and listen,
Teach me to center down;
Teach me the use of silence,
Teach me where peace is found.

Teach me to hear your calling,
Teach me to search your word,
Teach me to hear in silence
Things I have never heard.

Clerk Pastor Kenneth Comfort will share a message entitled The Day of Visitation, inspired by Mark 1:1-3:

The beginning of the good news of Jesus Christ, the Son of God.
As it is written in the prophet Isaiah,
‘See, I am sending my messenger ahead of you,
who will prepare your way;
the voice of one crying out in the wilderness:
“Prepare the way of the Lord,
make his paths straight” ’

Below are some queries to help prepare your heart and mind for the message:

How have you experienced the coming of Christ in your life? How have you responded?

How has Christ transformed you? How are you helping others respond to the living Christ?

Reedwood gathers for worship at 9:30am at 2901 SE Steele, Portland, Oregon.