In Preparation for Meeting: February 19, 2012

Posted on

“Come to me”

The coming weekend of February 17-19 marks our annual all-church retreat to Twin Rocks Friends Camp. We’re very excited for a weekend away with our worshipping community.

Carol Joy Brendlinger

Yet, some will not be able to make it for one reason or another and so we will also be having a regularly scheduled meeting for worship this Sunday at 9:30am. Carol Joy Brendlinger, of Portland State University’s spiritual life center, will be leading worship musically, as well as sharing a spoken-word message.

Worship songs include As We Gather and the Taize tune Come and Fill Our Hearts. These songs will be followed by a scripture reading exercise of Matthew 11:28-20:

 ‘Come to me, all you that are weary and are carrying heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.’

Carol Joy will then share a sermon entitled “Come to Me” followed by the hymn There is a Balm in Gilead and an extended period of Open Worship.

We hope to see you either at Twin Rocks for the retreat, or with Carol Joy Brendlinger on Sunday morning at 9:30am.

NOTE: There will be no Education Hour or Sunday Evening Worship Gathering this week.

