In Preparation for Meeting: August 12, 2012

Posted on

Do justice, love kindness, walk humbly

The second Sunday of August finds Reedwood continuing a season of extended open worship followed by a brief time of sharing from a Friend ministering abroad. Beginning at 9:30am, this weekend’s meeting for worship will include music from the handbells as well as bi-lingual singing shared with our Latino congregation. Faviola Hernandez will lead the community in Estamos Juntas Otra Vez, En Medio De La Congregación, and Dios Esta Aquí.

The scripture reading this week will come from Micah chapter six:

Can I tolerate wicked scales
and a bag of dishonest weights?
Your wealthy are full of violence;
your inhabitants speak lies,
with tongues of deceit in their mouths. (v. 11, 12)

 ‘With what shall I come before the Lord,
and bow myself before God on high?
Shall I come before him with burnt-offerings,
with calves a year old?
Will the Lord be pleased with thousands of rams,
with tens of thousands of rivers of oil?
Shall I give my firstborn for my transgression,
the fruit of my body for the sin of my soul?’
He has told you, O mortal, what is good;
and what does the Lord require of you
but to do justice, and to love kindness,
and to walk humbly with your God? (v. 6-8)

Miguel Angel Castop of the Progresa program will share briefly out of the silence following the extended open worship.